College Of Law

Overview of the college

College of Law was established in June 2011 at Department level under the college of social science & Humanities. However, in 2012, it was separated from the college of social science & Humanities and managed to be a college. The college has started its program with 50 regular & 41 extension students in the L.L.B program, having 4 Academic staff members. Now, around 164L.L.B regular students and 22 extension students are enrolled and its staff has grown to 14 academic staff, in which 1 of them is on study leave for PHD and 3 administrative staff members. The college of law is working to provide quality education and to fulfill the current need of the country in the field of law. The college endeavors to make graduates to be competent in knowledge, skill, and attitude.

In addition to the teaching & learning process, the college is engaged in research & community service, particularly rendering free legal aid services for the vulnerable groups of the community in Debrebirhancity,Northshoa Zone prison Adminstration, and Shewarobit town. The college is also working to make more partnership linkage with both governmental & non-governmental organizations.


The College of law aspires to be the most preferable college for the study of law in the country by 2020.


The College of Law works for the advancement of intellectual and social conditions of Ethiopia by providing quality legal education and training programs through teaching, research and community service that produces competent and responsible member of the legal profession who actively contribute towards rule of law, democracy, human rights, good governance, social justice, equity, tolerance and development.


  • Common vision
  • Quality service
  • Attention to cross- cutting issues
  • Diversity
  • Professionalism
  • Effectiveness
  • Equality and equity
  • Programs under college of law
  • Under graduate (Regular & extension) 


Communications Affairs Directorate 

Tel: +251116816286

Fax- 0116812065

Po.Box: 445

Hailemariam Birke (PhD)

DBU President